The Five-Eyed Bookworm

Eclectic Reader. Lover of beautiful book covers.

2014 TBR Pile Challenge

21 Comments

Update (as of March 11, 2014) : 9 out of 12 books completed

2013 was a good reading year for me. I’ve read more books than what I challenged myself with and I discovered new authors. It’s now December and while I’m not going to write my top ten book for this year yet, I went around looking for some challenges I can commit to (hopefully) this 2014. I do not want to join many challenges as I also want to ‘impose’ a few personal reading challenges for myself too.

I am joining the TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Roof Beam Reader this year. The idea is to list 12 books you want to read for the year, plus two alternatives in case you want to throw out a book in the middle of reading. The books must have been in your to-be-read list for at least a year (books published from January 2013 onwards are not eligible, sorry). I have the tendency to buy books and plop them into my bookshelf never to be touched again so this is a good challenge for me. Que horror! While I have some books in my Kindle which suffered the same fate as the books I bought, I’m going to stick with what we people like to call “physical books” for this challenge.

Here’s my list:

2014 TBR Pile Challenge

2014 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini (2003) – Review coming soon
  2. Memoirs of a Geisha, Arthur Golden (1997)
  3. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Kim Edwards (2006)Read my review
  4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Mary Ann Shaffer (2008) – Review coming soon
  5. The Giver, Lois Lowry (1993)Read my review
  6. The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath (1963) – Review coming soon
  7. Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson (1999) – Review coming soon
  8. It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Ned Vizzini (2006)
  9. Girl, Interrupted, Susanna Kaysen (1993) – Review coming soon
  10. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood (1985) – Review coming soon
  11. Enduring Love, Ian McEwan (2004)Read my review
  12. The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger (2003) —  I wasn’t able to finish this :( The beginning part got me so bored I gave up on it.

 

Alternates:

  1. Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafón (1950)
  2. In Cold Blood, Truman Capote (1965) — This will replace #12.

I do hope I’ll complete this challenge and read more books next year. It would be great to see your TBR Pile Challenge for 2014. Leave me a comment with a link to your list so I can check it out :)

Update: Scroll brush used in layout: by Lileya at DeviantArt

Author: 5eyedbookworm

Eclectic reader. Lover of beautiful book covers and stories of lasting interest.

21 thoughts on “2014 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. I want to do this challenge too! I have so many books like this. But first, I want to know how you created that awesome notebook esque sign with your books. I am obsessed. PS. There are so many books on this list that you won’t want to throw out. Definitely with both The Memory Keeper’s Daughter and Memoirs of a Geisha, just keep reading because they get better. : )

    Like

    • Cassie, hi! I created the image with Photoshop. I’ve edited the post with a link to Lileya (DeviantArt) who provided the free scroll brush. As for the paper used in the background, it is an old one I’ve had ever since. I’m sorry I can’t provide a link to the artist as I’ve forgotten where I got it from. I watched the movies for the two books you mentioned and I do hope I’m going to enjoy the books. I really am looking forward to completing this challenge ;)

      Like

  2. I want to read The Kite Runner and The Time Traveler’s Wife, plus re-read The Giver! Great list you have there! I hope to get mine up soon… I just have so many!

    Like

    • Can you believe I bought The Giver in 2004 and I haven’t read it once? Hahaha. I’m really looking forward to completing this challenge. I’ve bought too many books this year and read only a few of them :)

      Like

      • Wow! You have that book for as long as I have been alive haha I read it when I was in the fifth grade, but I didn’t really understand it then. Let me know what you think once you read it.

        Like

  3. A nice list there. I want to read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Time Traveler’s Wife has been one I wanted to read for a couple of years. Maybe in 2014.

    Like

  4. I only got halfway through my 2013 TBR list… FAIL! But I’m considering signing up in 2014 again just because. Why not? I figure it’s a sign to release the 6 books I didn’t get to on the 2013 list back into the universe (or something) :)

    Like

    • To be honest, I usually get side-tracked when I see new books so I hope I’ll stick to the challenge until the end ;) The books I chose were books that have been laying dormant since forever, so touching them should be a good idea :) If you do sign up, good luck! :)

      Like

      • Yeah, no doubt—I have plenty of books I need to get to sitting on my shelves for months (years in some cases…) which is why I tried for the 2013 challenge. I just need to look over my shelves now to see what’s there that would qualify for the 2014 challenge before committing. Good luck to you, too!

        Like

  5. Wow! You have some beauties on your list – you’ll have a fabulous time reading 2014 :-)

    Like

  6. Pingback: Bookish (And Not So Bookish Thoughts) | The Five-Eyed Bookworm

  7. I have read several books on your list, and I have enjoyed them all. Hope you will, too!

    Like

  8. Best of luck! I have either read or want to read every book on your list. You will have a fun year!

    Like

Thank you for your visit! Would you like to leave a comment?

