The Five-Eyed Bookworm

Eclectic Reader. Lover of beautiful book covers.

11/22/63 Readalong

6 Comments

Stephen King's 11/22/63

My first Stephen King book was Carrie. I read it when I was in high school. Before that, most of the books I read were either Nancy Drews, Sweet Valley Highs and R.L. Stines. My mother would never approve of me reading something from an ‘adult’ author at that time so I had to smuggle it in my room and use the night light to read it before going to sleep. Now if you have read any Stephen King books, these are books best read at night. I know some will disagree but I think it adds to the atmosphere ;) At that time, I didn’t have any friends to discuss the book with as none of my friends liked to read that much. My excitement and intrigue for the book, therefore, was confined inside my brain without much hope for discussion. This didn’t stop me though. I devoured the Stephen King books I could get my hands on (without the knowledge of my mother) even if I couldn’t discuss them with anyone.

Fast forward to 2013, where technology allows us to connect with almost anyone and allow us to participate in most things – such as readalongs. The readalong for 11/22/63 got me excited because I’ve had this book for a while now. If you know me, I constantly hoard buy books without reading them immediately, which is kinda sad and funny at the same time. Kristin of My Little Heart Melodies organized the 11/22/63 readalong together with Sarah of Word Hits. I might be a little late but I’m hoping I can finish the book by December 22. I started reading the book last night and I must say it is indeed a page turner.

To be honest I don’t know what to expect from this book. I was told it doesn’t fall in the horror genre so I guess this will be different, hopefully in a good way.

If you’d like to join, please head on to Kristin’s blog or  Sarah’s blog to sign up and read more about the readalong. If you use Twitter, you may use the hashtag #112263along. Stephen King recently joined Twitter too so you might want to follow him over there ;)

Author: 5eyedbookworm

Eclectic reader. Lover of beautiful book covers and stories of lasting interest.

6 thoughts on “11/22/63 Readalong

  1. I hope you like it! It’s like, sci-fi/thriller/alternate-history/little-bit-of-love-story fun. :)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Bookish (And Not So Bookish Thoughts) | The Five-Eyed Bookworm

  3. Woot! So glad you joined us!!! I meant to comment b4 but I was having WordPress issues with all my comment attempts … which was esp irksome b/c my blog is also WordPress, sigh.

    Glad to have you for the #112263Along!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Beware Thy Pimped-Out Pantry | The Five-Eyed Bookworm

  5. Pingback: Year In Review: 2013 | Part 1 | The Five-Eyed Bookworm

Thank you for your visit! Would you like to leave a comment?

